## **MINI MINUTES**

April 28, 2014

- Received as information: Collective Bargaining Update, MSBA Regional Meeting Update, Met School visit to Fisher River.
- Presentation: James B. Wilson, Treaty Relations Commission of Manitoba and Dr. Jean Friesen, University of Manitoba.
- Approved the following Administrative appointments effective September 2, 2014: Bob McIntosh, Principal, West St. Paul School; Gary Jackson, Principal, O.V. Jewitt School; Heather Marks, Principal, École Constable Edward Finney School; Fortunato Lim, Vice-Principal, Amber Trails Community School, Catherine Paul-Sawatzky, Vice-Principal, École Constable Edward Finney School.
- The following were appointed to full-time (1.00) Teacher General (Permanent) teaching contracts effective April 28, 2014: George Hanna, Shane Hicks, Alexander Lucy, Christopher Pereira, Mike Peterson, Kelly Stokotelny, Aaron Story.
- Roberta Matheson was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective September 2, 2014 to June 30, 2015.
- Jennifer Babcock was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective April 9, 2014 (Indefinite).
- Aaron Boila was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective April 7, 2014 to June 27, 2014.
- Daniel Corrigan was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective April 14, 2014 to June 27, 2014.
- The following teachers were appointed to Substitute Teacher contracts effective the 2013-2014 school year:

Hilary Balagus Chloe Bishop

Jamie-Lee Capistrano

Guy Chappellaz

Christopher Cymbaluk

Colleen Dawson
Justin Dyck

Jessica Farias Kate Hallett

Rebecca Hill Jehane Johnson Adam Klowak Adrienne Leonard

Josh Malcolmson Chelsea Morissette

Alexis Pearn
Carl Pfahl
Derek Tuba
Christy Sawatzky
Melissa St. Mars
Alysa Talbot
Leah Vanderhooft

Devon Barker

Laura Budowski Curtis Cawson Kristen Chin

James Davies

Jessica Denolf Kiera Dyck

Kelsey Griffith-Parker

Jennifer Henry Holly Hunter Irina Kirman Jeffrey Knight Caitlin Long Jarrett Miller Hannah Muns

Hannah Muns Amanda Peters Kelsey Sukich Kerri-Ann Pries Megan Seddon

Caitlin Shand Joan Trimble Lindsey Waldie

- Amey Ogidan was granted a full-time (1.00) leave of absence, without pay, effective the 2014-2015 school year.
- Kim Trudeau was granted a full-time (1.00) leave of absence, without pay, effective the 2014-2015 school year.
- Ronit Kantarzhi gave notice of intent to resign effective June 27, 2014.
- Ryan Cook gave notice of intent to resign from the position of Educational Assistant effective August 31, 2014.
- John Pirrie gave notice of intent to retire effective April 22, 2014.
- Angel Quismundo was appointed to the position of Custodian, full-time, (8 hours per day) effective April 21, 2014.
- Approved:
  - That the Board donate \$5,000 to the Seven Oaks Education Foundation in memory of Trustee Ric Dela Cruz for his dedicated service to the students, parents and community of Seven Oaks School Division.
  - That the Board excuse Trustee Myskiw due to health reasons.
  - That the Board forward the attached letter to the Manitoba School Boards Association regarding feedback with respect to a governance review.
  - That the Board submit its Five Year Capital Plan Update 2015-16 to 2020-21 to The Public Schools Finance Board.
- Approved for payment:
  - Certificate of Payment No. 11 for the new Amber Trails School project in the amount of \$1,022,889.38 be paid to Bockstael Construction Ltd.
  - Statutory Holdback on Certificate of Payment No. 11 for the new Amber Trails School project in the amount of \$78,987.60 be paid to the Seven Oaks School Division/Bockstael Construction account.
  - Invoice No. 421 for the new Amber Trails School project in the amount of \$2,336.25 be paid to QCA Building Envelope Ltd.
- Conference Reports received from:
  - Valery Czarnecki, Vice-Principal, A.E. Wright School. ASCD Annual Conference and Exhibit, March 15 to 17, 2014 - Los Angeles, California.
  - Rhonda May, Principal, H.C. Avery School. Learning and the Brain Teaching Self Aware Minds, February 12 to 15, 2014 San Francisco, California.
- Correspondence received from:
  - Keith Thomas, Risk Manager, Manitoba School Boards Association. Use of gyms for concerts, plays, etc.
  - James Allum, Minister of Education and Advanced Learning. Letter to the Board expressing condolences on the recent loss of Trustee Ric Dela Cruz.
  - Peter Kotyk, Chairperson, River East Transcona School Division. To Floyd Martens, President, MSBA supporting Brandon School Division concerns.
  - MSBA-CPI Update-April 2014.
  - Lynne Mavins, Director, School Finance Branch. Approval to submit 2013/2014 financial statements November 4, 2014 instead of October 31, 2014.
  - Helen Robinson-Settee, Aboriginal Education Directorate. Building Student Success with Aboriginal Parents (BSSAP) Fund.

- Flor Marcelino, Minister of Multiculturalism and Literacy. Operating grants for Adult Education Centres, Urban Training Centre, and the Adult Learning Centre for 2014/15.
- Darryl Gervais, Director Instruction, Curriculum and Assessment Branch.
   Education for Sustainable Development: Kindergarten to Grade 4 Poster Activities
- Manitoba Orff Chapter. Manitoba Orff will be hosting a day of musical performances on June 5 at the Forks Market.
- Restitution for Parents. Workshop, August 20, 2014.
- Marymound Annual Family & Cultural Day. June 4, 2014 / 1:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m., 442 Scotia Street.
- Seven Oaks School Division Transportation Procedures.
- Mondetta Charity Foundation. MCF Report Spring 2014.
- The Indo-Canadian Telegram April/May 2014. Article: *Maples Collegiate, Lakewood School Receive* \$10,000 Music Awards.
- PSFB Annual Report. Annual Report for the Year Ending June 30, 2013.
- Donna Herold. Thank you card.